The Reason I Was In The E.R. ‘Till 3:00 A.M.

March 22, 2009

Well, I’m home now….Maddy, exactly! I was so exhausted. Basically, yesterday was my mom’s birthday. We went out for italian food, and then came home and had cake and ice-cream. Around nine thirty, or ten, I had a little cut that was  incredibly itchy. I showed my mom, and she saw the swelling that I had not noticed. My right ankle was double the size of my left ankle! It was Scary. Our neighbors are doctors, and one of their lights was on so we called them. Alison came over, and said we should go  to the E.R. so we went to Boston’s Childrens. We arrived at around 11, and then i had to have my blood pressure taken, be weighed, and so on, and then we talked to a nurse who told us it should be about and hour and a half wait. So, around 12:30, we got to see a Dr., and he was mystified, basically. There were tons of other people,. so he keot having to excuse himself and then come back in. He was so confused with it he got another dr. We are wondering if it has anything to do with farm school! Around one thirty, we took an x-ray. As i was lying down, the woman says, (keep in mind she knows im 11!) 

“Sweetie. I gotta ask you..is there any chance you’re pregnant?”!!!! Obviously, I said no.  

Around 2:30, an hour later, they finally came in. The radioligist had had a lot to read, obviously. THey didn’t detect a fracture, and we didn’t think it was an infection, cause it wasn’t red, and I
 didn;t have a fever. 
Finally, at 3 in the morning, we considired getting a white blood cell count, but went against it. If my ankle swoll up more, we would take it tomorrow, Anyway, taking it tonight would probably not tell us much….if the test comes back negative, then it’s not an infection, but if it came back positive, it could basically be nothing. 

THis morning, the swelling has gone way down, and i feel better, but it is still swollen……

Mags

p.s. they were filming a documentary at Children’s! 

 

 

This was the email I sent out.  The swelling is almost down, but my ankle’s totally bruised. The guy at the E.R. said no gym for a couple days. But today I begged and begged, and she let me do a couple handstands. 🙂 I’m going to gym on wednesday though!

2 Responses to “The Reason I Was In The E.R. ‘Till 3:00 A.M.”

  1. Sara2 said

    omg that sounds horrible…i’m glad it’s probably nothing though. i guess you could do flex or something if your REALLY desperate to do gym.

  2. Karen said

    Haha they asked me if something similar to me when I had a check-up. It’s weird to hear those kind of questions when we’re this young, but it’s kina necessary.

Leave a comment